The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness

25207164The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness

HarperTeen – 2015
Ebook
English
336 pages
Young adult, contemporary

gr

 

 

 

synopsis

What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

thought

🌀 Perfect book in perfect time hahah.
Lately, I’ve been into this kind of book where the-not-so-lucky main characters were somehow ruined last weeks of their senior year, books like It’s Kind of Funny Story, Me & Earl & the Dying Girl, Golden, and of course John Green’s typical books. Well mainly because I can relate to it so much as I am in the middle of that very moment😶

I think you guys have got the idea of what this book is about from the synopsis. On each begining of a chapter there’s quick glance at what happened with the indie kids (it is what they called the chosen ones here). For instance, on the first chapter:

“CHAPTER THE FIRST, in which the Messenger of the Immortals arrives in a surprising shape, looking for a permanent Vessel; and after being chased byher through wood, indie kid Finn meets his final fate.”

🌀 The writing style is hilarious.
The moment I read the synopsis I just knew that I would enjoy this book so much and I really did. But please don’t compare it to A Monster Calls—which I read later—it’s a whole different package.

🌀 The main character, Michael, is pretty likeable.
He was so insecure about everything and just tried his best to be a good friend for people he cared about. He suffered from excessive anxiety and serious OCD. At some point, I just wanted to hug him tight😞

🌀 But I found myself rather into Mel, Mikey’s one year older sister who had to be hiatus from school for a year because of her anorexia.
Though they were very very supportive to each other, I think it was actually still a big deal. I really want to know more how Mel’s feeling is. She is so cool and bold and amazing.

🌀 And there’s everyone’s favourite Mikey’s bestfriend, Jared, who was actually an indie kid but was trying to live a normal life.
He gave me an impression as a demigod—or quartergod to be precise—from Percy Jackson world: his Cat Goddeses grandma was long gone after giving birth to his mom—who was also gone (every damn demigod), he also got this ability to heal people with his shining palm (Apollo’s children, Will Solace kyak 😳), cats worshipped him and he seemed to be able to communictae with them (like Percy and horse, though didn’t worship).

🌀 I truly love the friendship in this book.
They relied on each other so much. It showed us what a sincere friendship should be like and it was sweet and heartwarming.

🌀 Sometime after we read a chosen one typical fantasy book and wake up in reality we feel bad about our real life. It feels like nothing compared to their worlds, thier journeys. This book is trying to tell us that our ordinary lifes are just as important as theirs.

🌀 In my opinion, the best part about this book is it told the truths about mental illness in a beautiful way💕

“Feeling don’t try to kill you, even the painful ones. Anxiety is a feeling grown too large. A feeling grown aggresive and dangerous. You’re responsible for its consequences, you’re responsible for treating it. But Michael, you’re not responsible for causing it. You’re not morally at fault for it. No more than you would be for a tumour.”

Only after I had read this book I just came to realization that I think I used to suffer from mild OCD. I remember when I was much younger, I often unnecessarily repeated doing things. Like when I was asked to lock the door, I would check it many times, partly to make sure it was really locked, the rest because I didn’t think I’d done it correctly, and just like Mikey, I myself didn’t how the correct one was. Or that I accidentally touched stuff’s surface, there’s this great feeling that I have to touch the rest of its surface fairly or somehow something bad will likely happen.
Thank God, it’d gone though!

toss

“Not everyone has to be the Chosen One. Not everyone has to be the guy who saves the world. Most people just have to live their lives the best they can, doing the things that are great for them, having great friends, trying to make their lives better, loving people properly. All the while knowing that the world makes no sense but trying to find a way to be happy anyway.”

4

One thought on “The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

